Saga: Book One

22078240Saga: Book One by Brian K. Vaughan
Published
 : 2014
Version Read
 : ebook
Read More about it here.

2starWritten by Eisner Award-winning “Best Writer” BRIAN K. VAUGHAN (Y: The Last Man, The Private Eye) and drawn by Harvey Award-winning “Best Artist” Fiona Staples (Mystery Society, North 40), SAGA is the story of Hazel, a child born to star-crossed parents from opposite sides of a never-ending galactic war. Now, Hazel’s fugitive family must risk everything to find a peaceful future in a harsh universe that values destruction over creation. Fantasy and science fiction are wed like never before in a sexy, subversive drama for adults that Entertainment Weekly called, “The kind of comic you get when truly talented superstar creators are given the freedom to produce their dream book.”

This was a bind up of the first 18 comics in the series. I picked it up from the library because I kept hearing how amazing it was and that if I only read one graphic novel it should be this one. Once again the story did not live up to the hype.

I was lost for almost the entirety of this book. I’m starting to think that maybe graphic novels are just not my kind of format for storytelling. I always have a hard time staying engaged in the story with all the pretty pictures catching my eye.

But the story in this one was something I would normal pick up. It was right up my alley, and yet something felt off about the whole thing. I couldn’t connect with any of the characters and none of their decisions really made sense to me. The world building was choppy and I still don’t get the idea of how anything works in it.

Just not my cup of tea guys, sorry.

Leave a Reply

