Siege and Storm

14061955Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo 
Published
 : 2013
Version Read
 : paperback
Read More about it here.

2starHunted across the True Sea, haunted by the lives she took on the Fold, Alina must try to make a life with Mal in an unfamiliar land. She finds starting new is not easy while keeping her identity as the Sun Summoner a secret. She can’t outrun her past or her destiny for long.

The Darkling has emerged from the Shadow Fold with a terrifying new power and a dangerous plan that will test the very boundaries of the natural world. With the help of a notorious privateer, Alina returns to the country she abandoned, determined to fight the forces gathering against Ravka. But as her power grows, Alina slips deeper into the Darkling’s game of forbidden magic, and farther away from Mal. Somehow, she will have to choose between her country, her power, and the love she always thought would guide her–or risk losing everything to the oncoming storm.

This was probably one of my most disappointing reads of the year so far. That’s not to say that I didn’t enjoy the book, I mostly did, but it did not live up to what I expected. After loving Shadow and Bone so much, I wanted more from this book. It almost feels like its only purpose was to set up the last book.

I hated Alaina, Mal and the Darkling by the end of this book. I even skimmed through huge chunks of it because I was so bored. It was a struggle to get to the last few pages without just spoiling myself so that I could finish. I know that I’m in the minority here, so please don’t hate me.

The only, and I mean ONLY saving grace for me was Nicolai. I love him so much. You know how they say some people light up a room when they enter, well he did that for on the page. I kept finding myself wanting to read about him, more than the other characters in the story.

I just found myself not caring about where the story was going and if everyone was going to make it there alive. I will try to give the last book a shot, but at this point, I’m so depressed that the series wasn’t a home run for me.

P.S. Had to give up on the last book and DNF it. I’m sorry guys, I couldn’t do it. I didn’t care enough about anymore, and even Nicolai couldn’t save it for me. Not sure if I’ll give Six of Crows a shot or not. Could be the writing style that I’m not connecting with.

3 thoughts on “Siege and Storm

    • I always tell people to give books a chance, they might surprise you. Personally for me though, I wish I had stopped at the first book and just made up with rest of their lives.

      • I’m going to give it a shot just because how mixed I was about Shadow and Bone. But we’ll see how Siege and Storm goes.

Leave a Reply

