Adulthood Is a Myth & Big Mushy Happy Lump

30754980Adulthood Is a Myth & Big Mushy Happy Lump by Sarah Andersen
Published : 2017
Version Read
 : ebook
Read More about it here.

4starSarah Andersen’s hugely popular, world-famous Sarah’s Scribbles comics are for those of us who boast bookstore-ready bodies and Netflix-ready hair, who are always down for all-night reading-in-bed parties and extremely exclusive after-hour one-person music festivals. 

In addition to the most recent Sarah’s Scribbles fan favorites and dozens of all-new comics, this volume contains illustrated personal essays on Sarah’s real-life experiences with anxiety, career, relationships and other adulthood challenges that will remind readers of Allie Brosh’s Hyperbole and a Half and Jenny Lawson’s Let’s Pretend This Never Happened. The same uniquely frank, real, yet humorous and uplifting tone that makes Sarah’s Scribbles so relatable blooms beautifully in this new longer form.

I’ve told myself that this year I wanted to read lots of different kinds of books. Novels, graphic novels, fanfiction, non-fiction, etc. I picked these up at the library the day Big Mushy came out in stores. I wanted something that would cheer me up after a couple of crappy days at work. Boy did these do the trick.

I’m not new to the adulting game. I’ve been one for many (oh so many) years and wasn’t sure if I would relate to these books. I couldn’t have been more wrong. It was like reading my life in a comic book. Almost everything she drew was me, from spending pimps amount of money on books, to sleeping/talking to my cat. I may be single now, but I could even relate to all the relationship stuff she wrote about.

This was such an enjoy to read, I can’t wait to see what else she takes from my life to show the world.

19775876-_sy540_

Leave a Reply

