The Islanders Vol. 2

23287181The Islanders Vol. 2 by Katherine Applegate
Published : 2015
Version Read
 : ebook
Read More about it here.

3starThe Islanders have known one another forever–but everyone has a secret. The third and fourth book in Katherine Applegate and Michael Grant’s electrifying series reach a whole new audience in this gorgeous omnibus edition.

Nina has never been very interested in having a boyfriend. Especially since the only guy she’s ever really liked happens to be dating her sister, Claire. But when Ben and Claire break up Nina begins to wonder if it’s time she take a risk and put her heart on the line. The only problem is the other thing . . . the secret that Nina has never told anyone. The secret that has haunted her for years.
Now Nina must decide if she can tell her friends the truth. And, if she does, whether it is possible Ben will ever look at her the same way again.

I feel the same way with this volume as I do with the first one. I miss the original books. I don’t connect with the updated slang and cultural references. I still really enjoyed it and it brought back memories of reading it in high school, so so many years ago.

I had forgotten what the third book in the series was about. Nina’s story is one that touches me because I’ve gone through something similar. I knew how she felt and she acted the way that one would expect from a victim of abuse. It was a dark story and for a while I didn’t think that she was going to get the support she needed. It was a nice surprise to see people stand up for her, who normally wouldn’t.

The fourth book was a nice break from all the heavy drama in the third one. It was mostly about the homecoming dance and who would be king and queen. Some of the drama might have been a little over board, but I enjoyed it none the less.

I’ll keep reading the next two novels whenever I need a good pick me up story. I’m so glad they decided to republish this books and hope that they will continue with the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

