Anne of Green Gables

8127Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery
Published : 1908
Version Read
 : Ebook/Audiobook
Read More about it here.

4starEveryone’s favorite redhead, the spunky Anne Shirley, begins her adventures at Green Gables, a farm outside Avonlea, Prince Edward Island. When the freckled girl realizes that the elderly Cuthberts wanted to adopt a boy instead, she begins to try to win them and, consequently, the reader, over.

One of my unofficial goals of the year is to read more classic books. Luckily the 2017 Reading Challenge gave me the chance to pick up this book. I have watched and loved the movies of Anne Shirley for a long time now.

I mostly listened to this on Audiobook. Rachel McAdams narrated it and I think it was a perfect choice. Even sped up she still sounded great and the words were clear. I would suggest listening to this book if you decide to give it a try.

It’s been a while since I’ve seen the movie and I was so glad that it followed the book so closely. I had a great time remembering the different things that happened and laughing at my favorite parts. I had forgotten how long winded Anne was and how overly dramatic she can be, but that’s all part of her charm.

This was a wonderful classic children’s book with amazing characters and plot. I would recommend this to everyone. Read it and then go watch the 1985 version movie!

4 thoughts on “Anne of Green Gables

  1. This is by far one of my favorite books ever — I read it when I was eleven and laughed the whole way through at Anne’s misadventures. I think the first book and first movie are fairly similar to each other, but the next ones start changing a bit (if you continue with the series). I’m glad you liked it!

  2. OMG I love Anne of Green Gables. I’m Canadian so it was a must read classic to me, luckily I loved it! The story is so cute and adventurous and I could not help but desire to be Anne’s kindred spirit! Also the 1985 movie is the best Anne movie out there! *rip Jonathan Crombie*

Leave a Reply

