Winter

13206900Winter by Marissa Meyer
Published : 2015
Version Read
 : Hardback/Audiobook
Read More about it here.

3starPrincess Winter is admired by the Lunar people for her grace and kindness, and despite the scars that mar her face, her beauty is said to be even more breathtaking than that of her stepmother, Queen Levana.

Winter despises her stepmother, and knows Levana won’t approve of her feelings for her childhood friend–the handsome palace guard, Jacin. But Winter isn’t as weak as Levana believes her to be and she’s been undermining her stepmother’s wishes for years. Together with the cyborg mechanic, Cinder, and her allies, Winter might even have the power to launch a revolution and win a war that’s been raging for far too long.

Finally finished this book. First I have to say that I thought this book was way too long. I went between listening to the audiobook and reading the hardback and it took me nearly a week to make it through the book. Maybe that doesn’t seem like a long time for a 800+ page book, but for me, I just wanted it to end by the last 200 pages. This was not one of my favorite books in the series.

Having said that, I did enjoy most of the book. My favorite characters are Cress and Throne and I was so happy with their storyline and ending. I didn’t care for Winter and Jacin though, I just didn’t feel connected to Winter as a character. She was overly dramatic and childish. I understand that’s part of her illness, but it could have been dialed back a little I guess.

In spite of the book feeling too long, it was a wonderful end to the series. I was a little confused by some of the characters choices on what they were going to do after the war, but that was a very minor problem I had. The whole plot came around full circle and there aren’t many questions that were left open.

I can’t say much without giving away spoilers, but I can say that if you’ve read any of the previous books, you should go all the way and read this one too. It makes a great ending for the whole sha-bang.

Leave a Reply

