Three Dark Crowns

28374007Three Dark Crowns by Kendare Blake
Published : 2016
Version Read
 : Hardback
Read More about it here.

4starWhen kingdom come, there will be one.

In every generation on the island of Fennbirn, a set of triplets is born—three queens, all equal heirs to the crown and each possessor of a coveted magic. Mirabella is a fierce elemental, able to spark hungry flames or vicious storms at the snap of her fingers. Katharine is a poisoner, one who can ingest the deadliest poisons without so much as a stomachache. Arsinoe, a naturalist, is said to have the ability to bloom the reddest rose and control the fiercest of lions.

But becoming the Queen Crowned isn’t solely a matter of royal birth. Each sister has to fight for it. And it’s not just a game of win or lose…it’s life or death. The night the sisters turn sixteen, the battle begins.

The last queen standing gets the crown.

I wasn’t sure I was going to pick this book up. I kept hearing how dark it was, but that it was really good and some reviewer’s favorite book of the year. I wasn’t sure that I would want to get to know characters just to watch them kill each other. I had enough of that in the Hunger Games. I’m really glad that I picked it up though. Not sure it’s one of my top reads this year, but it was a good book.

I didn’t think it was all that dark. There was some blood magic in there, but nothing too dark and dangerous. I have read and watched way darker things than what is in this book. The only other complaint I have is nothing new to anyone. The love relationships. I think I’m just going to resign myself to expecting the insta connections in YA books. There is no getting away from it, it seems.

I really loved the idea of getting all three pov’s from the queens. Each one felt like a different character and I was able to keep them apart just by the style of language and wording. My favorite queen would be hands down Katherine. Her journey seems the most painful and interesting than the others. Her life looks and feels like it’s a struggle, and I can’t wait to see what she has in store for her sisters in the next book.

I enjoyed the writing style of the book and the author easily pulled me into the story and kept me there. During the parts where I might have been getting a little bored, something would happen and I’d be dragged right back in. It was an easy and quick read for me as well. There were parts of the book I could guess long before the events but I have to be honest about the ending. I didn’t see that twist with Arsinoe coming. It was a nice shock and I look forward to seeing where it goes in the next book.

All in all I really did enjoy this book. The second (and last?) book is on my most anticipated books of 2017. I will gladly read anything else this author has in store.

Leave a Reply

