The Raven Boys

13449693The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater
Published : 2012
Version Read
 : Paperback
Read More about it here.

3starEvery year, Blue Sargent stands next to her clairvoyant mother as the soon-to-be dead walk past. Blue herself never sees them — not until this year, when a boy emerges from the dark and speaks directly to her.

His name is Gansey, and Blue soon discovers that he is a rich student at Aglionby, the local private school. Blue has a policy of staying away from Aglionby boys. Known as Raven Boys, they can only mean trouble.

I was confused through the majority of this book. I’m not sure why it took me so long to catch on what was really happening, not sure that I fully understand the plot behind the book. Maybe it will be better explained in the following books.

Although I didn’t know what was happening, I still really enjoyed this book. The only reason it gets 3 stars instead of 4 is because of the confusing plot for me. I’m sure other people didn’t have this problem.

I liked Blue and 3/4 of the Raven Boys. I couldn’t stand Ronan and I’m not sure I’ll ever get on board with him. There was just something so off putting about his character. I also though that caring for the baby raven was rather strange, but I think it’s explained more in the next book so I might change my mind on that front.

I’m not 100% sold on either Blue and Adam or Blue and Gansey as a couple. I thought the relationship there was a little forced and it happened too soon, but it was nice to see Adam have another person. Unfortunately I know a little about his home experiences so he was the most relatable character for me.

I enjoyed the book but I’m not sure what else to really say because I don’t really know what happened. Stay tuned for the next books in the series in the future.

Leave a Reply

