Illuminae

23395680Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
Published : 2015
Version Read
 : Ebook
Read More about it here.

4starThis morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do. This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

To be honest I wasn’t sure if I wanted to read this book. The last “non traditional” novel I read was a huge disappointment to me. I didn’t know anything about this book when I picked it up except that it was about an invasion on a distant planet. I couldn’t have been more pleased with the decision to crack it open.

I really enjoyed this book and it took me two days to read through it. Considering I also had to work those two days, is really saying something. While it was a little hard to get into, maybe around the first 20% of the book it finally hooked me and I couldn’t put it down. Might have even read it on the clock a little. Oops, sorry.

The only complaint that I have has nothing to do with the story or the characters. Since I read this in Ebook form it was a little hard to read some of the pages. I couldn’t get my e-reader to enlarge some of the graphics so I had to keep going and hope that the following pages would explain what I had missed. Maybe that’s not something anyone else had a problem with, I don’t know.

I think my favorite character was Ezra by far. He was funny, loyal and a great all around character. *Spoiler, if you don’t want to know skip to the next paragraph. You have been warned* When Aidan said that he had been dead for a majority of the book I literally screamed and wanted to throw my reader across the room. It’s been a long time since a book really caused that kind of emotion out of me.

I thought Kady was a fantastic character and really loved that she stayed true to herself throughout the whole book. I also love that she’s a coder/hacker. As a fellow computer nerd, I really related to her on that level, although she would far outshine me. I’m looking forward to seeing if / how her father made it in the next book. I really hope that he isn’t dead because she needs a family member around.

All in all I really enjoyed this book and look forward to continuing the series with the next book soon. So glad I took the chance and picked it up.

Leave a Reply

