Throne of Glass

16034235Throne of Glass by Sarah J. Maas
Published : 2012
Version Read
 : Ebook
Read More about it here.

3starIn a land without magic, where the king rules with an iron hand, an assassin is summoned to the castle. She comes not to kill the king, but to win her freedom. If she defeats twenty-three killers, thieves, and warriors in a competition, she is released from prison to serve as the king’s champion. Her name is Celaena Sardothien.

The Crown Prince will provoke her. The Captain of the Guard will protect her. But something evil dwells in the castle of glass–and it’s there to kill. When her competitors start dying one by one, Celaena’s fight for freedom becomes a fight for survival, and a desperate quest to root out the evil before it destroys her world.

I picked up this book because I loved A Court of Mist and Fury so much. I wanted to read more from this author. While I know now that this is a hugely popular series, I wasn’t that in love with it as I wanted to be. I did enjoy this book, but it wasn’t a page turner as ACOMAF was.

I’m not completely sold on Celaena yet. I just don’t have any attachments to her that make me really care what happens. Her relationship with the Prince is weird and I don’t understand the attraction to each other. I do like Chaol better than Dorian, but I know where is a much better match for her in the later books.

The story was good, but for me predictable. I knew who the “bad” guys were long before the big reveal. I enjoyed all of the action scenes and I like that she made some friends who were real with her. I’ve been spoiled for the rest of the books, but I do intend to read them to form my own opinion.

I can tell that Sarah’s writing has come a LONG way from this book to ACOMAF. And I look forward to seeing this growth play out in the next books.

Leave a Reply

