Obsidian & Onyx & Opal

19081403Obsidian & Onyx & Opal by Jennifer L. Armentrout
Published : 2012
Version Read
 : Paperback
Read More about it here.

3starWhen we moved to West Virginia right before my senior year, I’d pretty much resigned myself to thick accents, dodgy internet access, and a whole lot of boring… until I spotted my hot neighbor, with his looming height and eerie green eyes. Things were looking up.

And then he opened his mouth.

Daemon is infuriating. Arrogant. Stab-worthy. We do not get along. At all. But when a stranger attacks me and Daemon literally freezes time with a wave of his hand, well, something… unexpected happens.

The hot alien living next door marks me.

You heard me. Alien. Turns out Daemon and his sister have a galaxy of enemies wanting to steal their abilities, and Daemon’s touch has me lit up like the Vegas Strip. The only way I’m getting out of this alive is by sticking close to Daemon until my alien mojo fades.

If I don’t kill him first, that is.

I have read the first three books in this series in less than two weeks. I feel that’s pretty good of me. I do like the characters and for the most part the plot. I’m not in love with the writing style and some of the character interactions get on my nerves. But for the most part I do enjoy them.

After Opal I have decided to take a little break from the series to get my head back on straight. I can only handle so much alien in my life and with these books as well as re-watching Roswell, it’s a little more than I can handle. But that has nothing to do with the books, so let me get back on track.

I don’t understand why everyone loves Daemon. I’ve had a boyfriend who was both an ass and romantic and it was not as fun as you’d think. The constant worrying about which guy you were going to be spending the day with was exhausting. Maybe I’m weird and most girls do like boys like this, but I would much rather prefer a guy who was stable and treated me like he should all the time.

I’m not really sure how I feel about Katy at this point. I don’t hate her, but I’m also not emotionally involved enough to root for her either. It’s more like meh I hope she doesn’t die because that would suck. I’m also not deeply invested in any of the other characters to be sadden or shocked when/if they all die either.

I’m sure that I’ll finish the other two books, but for now I’ve lost my interest in this story and have way too many other things on my TBR to read. I’m sorry, but it’s all meh to me.

 

Leave a Reply

