The Inheritance (Secrets of the Shetlands)

25834876The Inheritance by Michael R. Phillips
Published : April 2016
Version Read
 : Paperback
Read More about it here.

2starThe death of the clan patriarch has thrown the tiny Shetland Islands community of Whale’s Reef into turmoil. Everyone assumed MacGregor Tulloch’s heir to be his grand-nephew David, a local favorite, but when it is discovered that MacGregor left no will, David’s grasping cousin Hardy submits his own claim to the inheritance, an estate that controls most of the island’s land. And while Hardy doesn’t enjoy much popular support, he has the backing of a shadowy group of North Sea oil investors. The courts have frozen the estate’s assets while the competing claims are investigated, leaving many of the residents in financial limbo. The future of the island–and its traditional way of life–hangs in the balance.

Loni Ford is enjoying her rising career in a large investment firm in Washington, DC. Yet in spite of her outward success, she is privately plagued by questions of identity. Orphaned as a young child, she was raised by her paternal grandparents, and while she loves them dearly, she feels completely detached from her roots. That is until a mysterious letter arrives from a Scottish solicitor. . . .

Past and present collide in master storyteller Phillips’s dramatic new saga of loss and discovery, of grasping and grace, and of the dreams of men and women everywhere.

I love books about Scotland. Anyone who knows me, knows that I can’t get enough of them. I just love the culture and the settings. I thought that this was going to be right up my alley, but I was wrong.

I barely made it 10 chapters (and they are very short chapters) in before I had to stop because it was giving me a headache. I’m not uncultured enough to know that people have accents in other countries. The Scottish accent is one of my favorites, but it’s extremely hard for me to read.
I feel horrible about not giving this book more of a chance, but if I can’t understand the language I’m not going to enjoy reading it. I’m sure the story is lovely because I can tell the author put in a lot of hard work into making it authentic.
It’s just a little too authentic for me. But if you like stories about Scotland, please give this one a chance. You may have better luck than I.

 

 

Leave a Reply

