Cinder

11235712Cinder by Marissa Meyer
Published : Jan 2013
Version Read
 : Paperback
Read More about it here.

4starHumans and androids crowd the raucous streets of New Beijing. A deadly plague ravages the population. From space, a ruthless lunar people watch, waiting to make their move. No one knows that Earth’s fate hinges on one girl.

Cinder, a gifted mechanic, is a cyborg. She’s a second-class citizen with a mysterious past, reviled by her stepmother and blamed for her stepsister’s illness. But when her life becomes intertwined with the handsome Prince Kai’s, she suddenly finds herself at the center of an intergalactic struggle, and a forbidden attraction. Caught between duty and freedom, loyalty and betrayal, she must uncover secrets about her past in order to protect her world’s future.

I’m late to the game on this book series and I know that. My reading slump went on for almost three years before I finally started to read again so this book has been sitting on my shelf for a very long time. I didn’t have the greatest time reading A Court of Thorns and Roses so I was a little hesitant to take on another fairy-tale retelling series.

I am so glad that I picked up this book three days ago. I have never read a book about robots or cyborgs before (that I can remember anyway) so I was extremely interested to see how this one was going to play out. While there was a little bit of instalove I’m glad it wasn’t in your face. Their interactions seemed natural and very well written

I loved Cinder and learning about the world through her eyes was great. She wasn’t the normal wishy-washy girl that I’m starting to find in many YA books. She knew what she wanted (to be free) and she didn’t everything she could to do that. Even her rash decisions made sense to who she was as a character. The only thing that I was disappointed about was I knew the big twist at the end was going to happen pretty much through the whole book. As soon as the other “princess” was mentioned. But that’s okay because it was truly a shock to Cinder.

The pacing of the book was great, although a little slow at the start but around chapter six it started to pick up and I flew through the pages. I gave myself the challenge that I would finish it last night (I had around 150 pages left) and I succeed in less than 3 hours. Which is pretty good for me after a long day of work, when I really just want to sleep.

I could recommend this book to anyone who loves a good retelling of a classic. I could recognize certain aspects of Cinderella which were like little Easter eggs to me. I’ve already ordered the next two and I can’t wait to get my hands on them.

Buy it Here

amazon-logo

Barnes-and-Noble

One thought on “Cinder

  1. Ⅰ will right away snatch yoᥙr rss as I can not find your email subscripption link
    or newsⅼetter serviсе. Do you’ve any?
    Kindlу allow me realize in order that I may ϳust subscribe.
    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

