The Selection Series Box Set

51vapd-dp0lThe Selection Series Box Set by Kiera Cass
Published :May 2015
Version Read
 : Paperback
Read More about it here.

3starFor thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape the life laid out for them since birth. To be swept up in a world of glittering gowns and priceless jewels. To live in a palace and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon.

But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her. Leaving her home to enter a fierce competition for a crown she doesn’t want. Living in a palace that is constantly threatened by violent rebel attacks.

Then America meets Prince Maxon. Gradually, she starts to question all the plans she’s made for herself—and realizes that the life she’s always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.

These books have been on my TBR for a very long time. I always thought the plot was interesting but I had no interest in reading about “The Bachelor”. When I saw the first book on sale I knew now was the right time to get it. I had been in a little reading slump for several weeks and needed something light and fun.

I have really enjoyed this series. It wasn’t the one I read the fastest, but only took me a couple days to finish all three books. I read the second one in less than 12 hours. The pace and length was wonderful and it kept me engaged. I thought the plot moved along quickly and I found myself amazed at how quickly I was reading it. I just kept turning the pages wanting more.

I loved that the two main characters didn’t have instalove. There was a very strong attraction, but America didn’t look at the prince and swoon. She still wanted to leave until pretty much the second half of the second book. I wish that the author had played on the fact that she wanted to be his spy with the girls, but then it might have changed the story a little. I also saw the big twist coming in the first book, but I was happy about it.

The second book was probably my favorite book. I just love teen angst and this book had it in spades. As much as I love this, I didn’t like that America became wishy-washy in what she wanted. Every time that Maxon would do something that she didn’t want, she would want to go back home. I don’t see a very healthy marriage if she’s always second guessing her husband.

The last book was a great tie up for everything. I was a little shocked by two things that happened and this is what made the book enjoyable. I was happy with the way that the book ended, but I was left wanting more. There was so much that the author could have done within the space of the plot. This was the most disappointing thing about the series. I left each book wishing that there was more depth and story to the it.

I would recommend this series to all of my friends, you included. It’s a quick fast read and it was very enjoyable.

Buy it Here

amazon-logo

Barnes-and-Noble

Leave a Reply

