First Kiss (Heavy Influence #1)

13537140First Kiss (Heavy Influence #1) by: Ann Marie Frohoff
Published : June 2013
Version Read
 : E-book/Netgalley
Read More about it here.

3star

I received this book in exchange for an honest review. This is no way influenced my feelings about the book.

Summary : 17 year old high school senior, Jake Masters, front man of a rising rock band, finds new interest in his younger freshman next door neighbor Alyssa Montgomery. Their relationship breaks hearts; stirs jealousy and band infighting. When they’re brought to new found awareness of body and soul, will rightful boundaries be crossed? Will the right decisions and choices, which are detrimental to the band and its future, be made through the haze of infatuation? Will Jake’s absences on the road lead to another filling his shoes?

When I lived in Kentucky I spent a lot of time around raising rock bands, so I have a fair idea of how things work. This book did a great job of showing the conflict that can come between band members when there is a girl involved. While reading this story all I could think of was that the characters were well thought out. There are too many inconsistencies with the secondary characters. Also I’m not sure the author has spent a lot of time with musicians to really understand them.

I didn’t have a problem with the relationship between Jake and Alyssa, but I had wished she would have been a little older. I’m not sure a teenager that young would be mature enough for the kind of relationship portrayed in this book. Had she been a little older there would have been more interesting drama that could have occurred.

I did enjoy the book and it reminded me a lot of high school, but I’m not sure I’d read another one of the books in this series. I will give the author another try because I did enjoy her writing style.

BUY IT HERE:

amazon-logo

Barnes-and-Noble

Leave a Reply

