A Stillness of Chimes

stillness

A Stillness of Chimes by: Meg Moseley
Published : Feb 2014
Version Read
 : Paperback/Blogging For Books
Read More about it here.

3star

When Laura Gantt returns to Georgia to handle her late mother’s estate, she hears a startling rumor—that her father staged his drowning years ago and has recently been spotted roaming the mountains.  With the help of her former high school sweetheart, Laura searches for the truth. But will what they find destroy their rekindled feelings?

I have mixed feelings about this book. I really loved the characters and the setting, but the plot was a little shallow for my taste. I’m willing to give the author another go, but this book will probably be passed on to a friend or family member.

I was very interested in reading this the day I found out that Blogging For Books was going to offer it up. I waited a whole month and then I had it in my hands. I sat down and read the whole thing in one sitting. Then I took three days to think of whether I really enjoyed it or not. I’ve come to the conclusion that I do like the book. It was entertaining enough for one read and I’ve found myself thinking of the characters after I’ve finished it.

Parts of the plot were predictable but not to the point of rolling my eyes. I thought the ending was well written and tied up the plot nicely, but for a Christian book, the characters never got closure. Most of them are left questioning God and what they believe. I know that Christians go through this on a daily basis, but when a story ends, they should at least have answers.

I wavered on 2 or 3 stars for this book, and I’m giving it 3 because it was a good book. I’m just not sure I’d read it again. I would recommend this to anyone, who loves the South, a cute mystery/romance or someone looking for a quick read.

 

** I received a copy of this book from Blogging For Books in return for an honest review. **

 

Leave a Reply

