The Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn

littlejohnThe Pursuit of Tamsen Littlejohn by: Lori Benton 
Published : Apr 2014
Version Read
 : Paperback/Blogging for Books
Read More about it here.

3star

Western North Carolina, 1787 ~ To escape a threatening stepfather and an unwanted marriage, Tamsen Littlejohn enlists the aid of Jesse Bird, a frontiersman she barely knows, to spirit her away from Morganton, North Carolina, west beyond the Blue Ridge Mountains.

I love history and I love books about the North Carolina mountains. This story had the makings to be one of my favorites for the last year. I know something of the Carolina wilderness and this book did not disappoint me.

I loved Tamsen Littlejohn as the main character. Her voice was refreshing and I rooted for her on every page. I loved her story arc and I was very sad to see the last page of the book come. What I adored the most was the story between Tamsen and Jesse. A lot of the time in historical fiction, romance either comes on too suddenly because the characters “don’t’ know any better”, or it comes out of the blue because at the last minute the author decided to put them together. This romance took its time and it was well worth reading.

I can’t say this enough, that I love when historical writers tell you about the past, but not in a way that makes it boring. For example, I lived in Johnson City, TN for a few years. One of the main roads was “State of Franklin”. I never took the time back then to research the name, because it seemed a rather odd name for a road. I’m so glad that I got to learn about it in this book.

I’ve been reading a lot of Christian books lately, and I’m so glad that they are not what everyone had warned me about. This book was not preachy and I believe anyone of any faith could read. I know I’m recommending it to all of my friends. I can’t wait to read more from Lori Benton.

**I received a copy of this book by Blogging for Books in exchange for an honest review.**

Pre-order the Book here

amazon-logo

 

Barnes-and-Noble

Leave a Reply

