The Quilted Heart Omnibus

quilted heart

The Quilted Heart Omnibus by: Mona Hodgson
Published : Jan 2014
Version Read : Paperback/Blogging for Books
Read More about it here.

3star

Once a week, Elsa Brantenberg hosts the Saint Charles Quilting Circle at her farmhouse on the outskirts of the riverside town of St. Charles, Missouri. The ladies who gather there have all experienced heartache related to the intense hardships of the Civil War, and together, they are facing their painful circumstances with friendship and prayer. Can the tattered pieces of their hearts be stitched together by God’s grace?

This was the first time in a long time that I’ve read a book that had separate novellas in it. I was a little concerned about how they would all fit together, but I enjoyed this book a lot.

As my readers know I have always had a huge love for historical fiction. Historical Christian fiction is fast becoming one of my favorite genre’s and this book delivers. Of the three stories I probably related to Bending Toward the Sun. I’ve never had to make a choice like the one Emilie had to make, but she was the most believable character to me. Some of her struggles were my own, just in a different time period.

Dandelions on the Wind, I just love that title. I loved all of the characters in this story equally. Reading about Maren struggling to accept God’s plan for her and not run away from it was something that I am going through myself. I think a lot of people are scared to do His will because it is out of our comfort zone, or we have to give up something to get it done. This would be the perfect story for those people who need an extra boost to what we already know. God’s plan is far better than anything you could have dreamed up for yourself.

Ripples Along the Shore is the one story I wished had more to it. If the author is writing a second book, I can’t wait to read about more Caroline. She was such an interesting character and I loved how the author wrote her growth. I’ve had a lot of “fresh starts” in my life and they are not always what they seem. I’m very interested in seeing how her fresh start turns out once they get out west.

I enjoyed these threes books immensely. I read the whole book in two setting starting on the day I received it. I would recommend this book to anyone who love Historical Fiction or needs a book that will give you faith and hope. I look forward to reading more from the author.

**I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in return for a review.**

Buy the Book here

amazon-logoBarnes-and-Noble

Leave a Reply

