Echoes of Mercy

echoesEchoes of Mercy by: Kim Vogel Sawyer
Published : Jan 2014
Version Read
 : Paperback/Blogging for Books
Read More about it here.

4star

When a suspicious accident occurs at the Dinsmore Chocolate Factory in Sinclair, Kansas, in 1904, Caroline Lang goes undercover as a factory worker to investigate. Oliver Dinsmore, heir to the Dinsmore candy dynasty, has his own investigation to conduct. Posing as a common worker known as “Ollie Moore,” he aims to find out all he can about the family business before he takes over for his father.

Kim is quickly becoming one of my new favorite authors. I’ve only read two of her books, but I am eager to get my hands on more. She did not disappoint with this book.

One of the things that I have loved about Kim’s writing is that she can really transport me to the world she’s telling. Everything is always descriptive and the characters are so real. They are complex and have flaws. Her books are Christian but there is no preaching here. They can be enjoyed by anyone of any faith.

I have a weakness for children in books and this one offered me three kids to root after. While I loved Caroline and Oliver, I have to admit that the children completely grabbed my attention whenever they were in a scene. I don’t want to take away how well Caroline and Oliver were portrayed. They were wonderful characters who had a lot of sticky situations to deal with. The fact that they were still able to have a little bit of romance during the story was inspiring.

One thing that I’ve started to notice with Kim’s books is the messages of hope and faith. In most of the books I’ve read there is only sadness and violence or other message the author leaves you with. When I’m finished reading this book, I’m left with a feeling of hope that the Lord will always take care of you in the end.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes Historical, Christian, and Inspiring books. I know it’s going to be passed to my roommate as soon as I’m finished with this review.

**I received a copy of this book from Blogging for Books in return for an  honest review.**

Leave a Reply

