The See-Through Leopard

LeopardThe See-Through Leopard by: Sibel Hodge 
Published : August 2013
Version Read
 : Kindle/Netgalley
Read More about it here.

4star

Most sixteen-year-old girls are obsessed with their looks, but Jazz Hooper’s obsessed for a different reason. After a car accident that kills her mum, Jazz is left with severe facial scars and retreats into a dark depression. Fearing what will happen if Jazz doesn’t recover, her dad makes a drastic decision to move them from England to a game reserve in Kenya for a new start. And when Jazz finds an orphaned leopard cub, it sets off a chain of events that lead her on a two year journey of discovery, healing, and love.

I know I’ve read a good book when I feel the need to act after reading it. When I finished this book I felt the need to do something about poaching  in Africa. I’ve always had a spot in my heart for the wild animals there, but as many Americans, we don’t always think about it. There are way too many things here keeping our attention from the important things going on. Okay back to the review, sorry.

I loved reading about Jazz’s story. With all of the harsh subjects touched on in this book it was a very welcomed break when she was with the cub. Although I didn’t find a leopard cub when I was at my lowest  (I was given a 3 week old kitten so same thing right?) I cried a little at that part. Jazz was a strong character and I loved that she was passionate about poaching and the effect it caused. The ending was perfect and I hope it leaves people with the same reaction I had.

Although the author had a very strong point to make and used Jazz as a way to do it, I loved the book. I will definitely pick up the next one. I would recommend this to anyone who likes an activist book and coming of age. You should also have a passion for animals. Go out and pick it up now.

**I received this book in return for an honest review from Netgalley.**

One thought on “The See-Through Leopard

Leave a Reply

