Pretenders

pretnedersPretenders by: Lisi Harrison
Published : Oct 2013
Version Read
 : Kindle/Netgalley
Read More about it here.

3star

Three girls, two guys, five secret journals. The five most popular students at Noble High have secrets to hide; secrets they wrote down in their journals. Now one of their own exposes the private entries…

I was so excited when I was approved to review this book from Netgalley. I have always wanted to write a book that was nothing but journal entries or letters. I’ll be honest and say that I was a little disappointed with the book, but it was a great book. I haven’t read anything by the author and after reading this I’m sure I’ll pick up another one of her books.

While the five different point of views was a little much for me I was always interested in what each of the characters had to say. They were typical high school students, but unique in their own ways. I think my favorite character of them was Vanessa. Maybe it’s because I was a nerd in high school, but I found myself searching out her entries. It was nice to get the views from the boys, but I enjoyed the girls a lot better.

My only major complaint of the book was the ending. I enjoy a great cliffhanger like the next person, but this one stopped so suddenly I was left scratching my head. There was no climax to the story. Just as it was picking up everything stopped like “Oops, ran out of time, get ya next time.” It was a little disappointing after getting to know the characters.

I will continue with the series just to know what happens to them all. I would also recommend this book to anyone what has read the author or likes the “Gossip Girl” series. It was an enjoyable quick read.

Leave a Reply

