Dream Girl

perf5.000x8.000.inddDream Girl by: S.J. Lomas 
Published : Nov 2013
Version Read
 : Kindle/Netgalley
Read More about it here.

2starFor Christine, dreams have never meant much. Until she meets Gabriel. Everyone thinks Christine should stay away from her new coworker at the library—thanks to his bad reputation—but when her dreams grow more vivid and she becomes entangled in a dangerous dream world with Gabriel every night, she can’t stay away. Soon it’s clear there is far more to dreams than Christine ever imagined, and now she’s on the path to making the biggest, and strangest, decision of her life.

I received a digital copy of this book from Netgalley in return for a review.

I thought it started out slowly, but then I really enjoyed it. I loved all the characters and thought they were well written. The major thing that I didn’t like so much was the “instant love” between Christine and Gabriel. I think there is way too much of this in YA books and it’s starting to become unrealistic. I understand that a relationship needs to happen in under 400 pages but at least wait until they have a full conversation before deciding that they are in love.

The main reason I wanted to read this book was the interesting plot. However I thought it fell apart in a few spots and I was left scratching my head for most of the book. I hate saying this because I know what it takes to write a novel, but I feel as though if the author had spent a little more time working on the plot the book would have been a hundred times better. It didn’t feel as well thought out as the characters.

I feel like the author has a lot of promise and I will check out other novels, but I’m not sure I’d read this one again. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a quick read if you can overlook anything I mentioned here.

Leave a Reply

