What Once Was Lost

whatwaslost

What Once Was Lost by: Kim Vogel Sawyer  
Published : Sept 2013
Version Read
 : Paperback/Blogging for Books
Read More about it here.

4star

On a small Kansas farm, Christina Willems lovingly shepherds a group of poor and displaced individuals who count on her leadership and have come to see the Brambleville Asylum for the Poor as their home. But when a fire breaks out in the kitchen leaving the house inhabitable, she must scramble to find shelter for all in her care, scattering her dear “family.”

This book came very close to a 5 star book for me, which as you all know is rare. I would give it a 4.8 at least. Have you ever heard of the phrase, “When it rains it pours”? I felt like that while reading parts of this book, but that by no means is a terrible thing. It made me root for the characters even more because I wanted to see them pull out of all their troubles.

My favorite character was Tommy hands down. Reading life through his eyes was so enlightening. I have a cousin that is blind and although she’s only three I already have a good idea of the kind of life she’ll have. I think that Tommy also gave me an insight in how to help her when she gets older and starts to experience how hard the world can be.

The strong messages of God’s hope and love for us is something that made me feel better about my own life. I loved that this is a Christian book that even my non-Christian friends will love. When you finish you get the sense that everything will turn out okay and no problem is unsolvable. This is the first book I’ve read from this author, and I can’t wait to get my hands on other copies of it.

I would recommend this book to everyone who needs a little love and hope in their lives. I know I’m going to pass it onto all of my friends.

**I received this book from the publisher via. Blogging for Books in return for an honest review.**

 

Leave a Reply

