Stargazing from Nowhere

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000037_00044]

Stargazing from Nowhere by: Isabel Thomas  
Published : July 2013
Version Read
 : Kindle/Netgalley
Read More about it here.

3star

Kristen Morgan’s blog is about to get her into trouble. Deep trouble. Online, she is known as “Stargazer” from the popular Stargazing from Nowhere blog, while in real life she is a regular fifteen-year-old high school student. This online anonymity is quite liberating, allowing her to be completely honest with her readers. Through a twist of fate, Rising Tide, the band she has bashed the most online, ends up in her small town, which sends Kristen into an excited panic. To continue gathering fresh material for her blog, she poses as a Rising Tide fan. After sneaking into the band’s private party, she comes face to face with the band’s drummer, Michael Stevens, who happens to be even more gorgeous in person than she cares to admit. Something unexpected also happens to her when she meets him: she becomes giddy, nervous, and inarticulate, leading Kristen to realize that her interest in Michael has nothing to do with her blog, but everything to do with her heart. As Kristen and Michael grow closer, does she have to make a choice between blog or boyfriend…Or is the choice made for her?

I really enjoyed this book even though I wasn’t sure if I would at the beginning. I’ve spent months being involved backstage with popular indie bands and my own church worship band. I thought that maybe this book would bring back some memories for me, but that wasn’t the case. Instead it was a cute little romance story between teenagers.

There were times I thought Kristen repeated her words or thoughts too many times. If you think about it all the time you might just need to do or say whatever is on your mind and get it over with. Other than that I thought it was a great story. Some of the characters were a little too “flawless” but that didn’t bother as much as it has in previous books. I wish there had been stronger character driven situations and a lot more character development. I’m not sure if this was the first novel for the authors to publish but I’m hopeful they will get better and I would like to read more from them.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes younger YA, mean girls, and young love.

Leave a Reply

