The Fiery Heart

9833184The Fiery Heart by: Richelle Mead 
Published : Nov 2013
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned
Read More about it here.

4star

But the struggle isn’t over for Sydney. As she navigates the aftermath of her life-changing decision, she still finds herself pulled in too many directions at once. Her sister Zoe has arrived, and while Sydney longs to grow closer to her, there’s still so much she must keep secret. Working with Marcus has changed the way she views the Alchemists, and Sydney must tread a careful path as she harnesses her profound magical ability to undermine the way of life she was raised to defend. Consumed by passion and vengeance, Sydney struggles to keep her secret life under wraps as the threat of exposure — and re-education — looms larger than ever.

Richelle warned us that some books were going to fly across the room. If I had been reading a paper book, it surely would be in pieces by now. It’s not an entirely bad reaction to such a great book. I only wish she had ended it a couple chapters earlier with Eddie goes to find Adrian during the meeting with Marcus. The last three chapters or so only fueled the fire building up when I finally realized what happened.

While I’m going to try to keep this review as spoiler free as possible I have to say that I loved and hated Sydney and Adrian as a couple. Maybe it’s because I have an unhealthy love for Adrian (just kidding.. well maybe), but something seemed off to me. I know he’s a vampire but the one time he really wanted to drink from her, really threw me off. I think they are perfect for each other and I hope the crazy kids can make it work.

The only thing I wish was different about the story was that it focused too much on Sydney and all the various things going on in her life. You’ll say that it’s her story after all right? Since we get a peek into Adrian’s mind here, I would have loved a little more coming from him, and 95% of the time he’s thinking about Sydney. I guess that is what happens when you’re in love right? You can’t stop thinking about the other person. But I really missed all of the other characters in the story. I would have loved to know more about Neil and Jill & Eddie were such minor characters this time around. I understand the point of having Zoe around, but I couldn’t stand her. I hope that if she is in the next books she redeems herself.

I can’t really say much without giving it away, so I am just going to say that I loved this book and it is probably my favorite of the series. Not sure how I am going to make it until July for the next installment. Maybe it’s time to reread the Vampire Academy.

I would recommend this book to anyone who likes vampires, magic, action and romance. And all of my friends are going to take turns reading it whether they want to or not! Just kidding.

 

Leave a Reply

