Forever Friday

foreverfriday

Forever Friday by: Timothy Lewis
Published : September 2013
Version Read
 : Blogging for Books/Owned
Read More about it here.

4star

After a devastating divorce leaves Adam Colby heartbroken, he is not sure how he can put the pieces of his life back together. He wonders if even God can make sense of the mess that remains-until a package of mysterious postcards that direct Adam to the story of Gabe and Huck Alexander. Drawn by her desire to find a true soulmate, Pearl “Huck” Huckabee breaks a turbulent engagement with her fiancé to marry Gabe Alexander, a man she’s known just a few short weeks. Wanting to celebrate and protect their love, Gabe mails her a meaningful postcard every week-beginning in 1926-for the next sixty years. Designed to arrive on Fridays, each postcard not only contains an original poem, but holds precious truths, the sum of which answer the universal question: what makes a marriage last? As Adam begins to uncover the Alexanders’ secret, he records Gabe and Huck’s extraordinary romance. It’s a process that will change his life forever.

 

I know I’ve said it before, but I love historical fiction. When I read the summary of this book I knew that it was right up my alley. I don’t know much about Texas history, but I absoutely loved this books.

I have to say that who wouldn’t want a love like Gabe and Huck’s? I have to commend the author for writing such wonderful flawed characters who I loved almost instantally when I read them. Too many times in books are one of the main love interest characters “perfect”. No one in real life is perfect and I loved that we get real characters in this book. I have to say that while I loved Gabe and Huck, Adam was by far my favorite character. His transformation throughout this book is amazing. I’ve never been divorced but I have had that kind of heartache and this story helped me have hope just a little too.

This is one book I am going to read again and I will recommend it to all of my friends.

 

 

Leave a Reply

