Kindred

KindredKindred by: Erica Stevens
Published : May 2012 
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned 
Read More about it here.

2star

What do you do when the one you love is also you worst enemy? Trapped in a destiny she does not want, Cassie finds herself lost and adrift, until he walks into her life, turning it upside down and awakening her in ways that she never dreamed possible.

I have to be honest and say that the only reason I read this book was because it was free and I loved the cover. The summary intrigued me so I took a chance on it. I should have kept it in my unread pile and worked on my own book a little more.

Back in my freshman college English class we were taught to “show not tell” things to our readers. This book suffers from telling the readers every feeling that Cassie has. Over and over and over again. If you cut out all the repetitive “telling”, the book would have more room for action and would have been a lot better.

There is little to like about the characters. Cassie was a decent character in the beginning of the book. She had her strengths and I was interested in where her life was going. Then she met Devon and completely lost herself. She became what fan fiction writers often call a “Mary Sue”. Personally I cannot stand books with female characters like this. I just couldn’t get invested in the book.

I can only recommend this book to people who don’t care about the issues that I had with it. I don’t think I am going to read the rest of the series.

Leave a Reply

