My Own Mr. Darcy

myownmrdarcy]My Own Mr. Darcy by: Karey White 
Published : July 2013 
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned 
Read More about it here.

3starAfter being dragged to the 2005 movie Pride and Prejudice by her mother, sixteen-year-old Elizabeth’s life changes when Matthew Macfadyen’s Mr. Darcy appears on the screen. Lizzie falls hard and makes a promise to herself that she will settle for nothing less than her own Mr. Darcy.

As many of my readers know, I LOVE a good Mr. Darcy story. I named my male cat Darcy after all. There are a lot of books out there that target women such as I, and fall short. This is not one of those books.

I see a lot of myself in Lizzie. I too fell in love with Matthew’s portrayal of Mr. Darcy (although not as much as Colin Firth). For years I wouldn’t date a guy unless he had certain “Darcy” qualities. It is insane I know, but I was young and knew what I wanted. However unlike Lizzie, I did not have a friend who pushed me out of my bubble.

Lizzie’s friend and roommate convince her to go out with Chad for ten dates, so that she can get over her illusions of not settling for anyone else besides Darcy. Of course Chad is a great guy, one that I’d love to date. However he isn’t exactly what she wants so when a tall dark aloof man walks into her bank, of course she’s going to fall in love. And of course he’s the “wrong” kind of guy to fall in love with.

This was such a cute, clean, quick read novel. I will defiantly recommend it to most of my friends and keep a look out for the next book Karey writes.

Leave a Reply

