Tithe

titheTithe by: Holly Black
Published : October 2002
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned 
Read More about it here.

1star

Sixteen-year-old Kaye is a modern nomad. Fierce and independent, she travels from city to city with her mother’s rock band until an ominous attack forces Kaye back to her childhood home. There, amid the industrial, blue-collar New Jersey backdrop, Kaye soon finds herself an unwilling pawn in an ancient power struggle between two rival faerie kingdoms – a struggle that could very well mean her death.

I think I’m going to stop trying to read books about the fey. I just can’t find one that I like very much. I might as well just stick to the Disney versions for now.

I generally love YA books of all sorts, but this was terrible. I hate saying it like that but the only word I could think of was terrible. I know that Holly Black has a good following of fans, but I hope it’s not because of this book. The whole thing felt rushed and unrealistic to me. It jumps around from point to point without any real detail given. It’s hard to care about characters when you don’t have a real feel of who they are and why they do the things they do.

I liked the premise of the story and that’s why I picked it up. Kaye was your typical YA girl who falls in love with a “mysterious” boy for no reason what so ever. Well I believe her reason was his hair? It doesn’t matter, because she was bound to love him sooner or later right? If you’re going to try to make me care about a guy, then give him some character please. Even if he is only a faerie.

I suppose that if I didn’t like someone I could recommend this book, only so they could waste their time. I’m sorry Ms. Black, I just couldn’t get into it.

Leave a Reply

