The Iron King

ironkingThe Iron King by: Julie Kagawa 
Published : February 2010 
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned 
Read More about it here.

2star

Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan’s life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.
When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she’s known is about to change.

I’ve noticed now that vampire, werewolves, and witches are all over pop culture, it’s the faeries turn. I know little of fey mythology, but I can guess this book was not meant to coincide with it. While I liked the book, I wanted a little more real mythology. Having put aside that desire I was able to enjoy the book.

Meghan is a well thought out character, but she had many flaws. Maybe it was because she had just found out she’s not entirely human, but sometimes I felt she was a little all over the place. The author did however have a great knack for making you believe the world she lived in was real. The way she wrote about the environment was perfect and I wished I lived in a few of her landscapes.

I’m still really torn about the characters however. It was a love-hate relationship and I’m not sure I will continue with the series. I like faeries as much as the next girl, but something was seriously lacking here.

I’m not sure who I could recommend this book to. Maybe the rest of the series is better. Maybe one day I’ll read the rest. Who knows.

Leave a Reply

