Prince of Wolves

princeofwolvesPrince of Wolves by: Quinn Loftis 
Published : June 2011
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned 
Read More about it here.

1star

  Jacque Pierce was just an ordinary 17-year-old girl getting ready to start her senior year in high school in Coldspring, Texas. When a mysterious foreign exchange student from Romania moves in across the street, Jacque and her two best friends, Sally and Jen, don’t realize the last two weeks of their summer are going to get a lot more interesting.
From the moment Jacque sets eyes on Fane she feels an instant connection, a pull like a moth to a flame. Little does she know that the flame she is drawn to is actually a Canis lupis, werewolf, and she just happens to be his mate; the other half of his soul.

I did not enjoy this book as much as I hoped to. Maybe it’s because I grew up in the Dawson’s Creek generation where teenagers spoke beyond their years. Or maybe it’s because I’m not a teenager now so the slang is really annoying. The characters were flat and not very well fleshed out. Sometimes they seemed cliché at best.

What annoys me the most is the way that Jacque just accepts everything that the “mystery” man does or says. Suddenly he can speak in her head and she just accepts it? And when she tells her friends, they just accept and believe her? Do these characters live in this world? To me it read too much like Twilight. Where you know the characters are going to end up together and they never question anything. What are we trying to teach our teenagers now?

As one of my guy friends used to say, “That just made me dumber.”

I really do hate having such low ratings on books, and this one had a great premise. I just wish that author had delivered on it. I can’t find it in my heart to recommend this book to anyone.

Leave a Reply

