Holding on and Letting Go

holdingHolding on and Letting Go by: Lucy Kelly
Published : March 2013 
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned 
Read More about it here.

4star

Two years after her little brother’s death, sixteen year old Emerson Caulfield returns to a home that she spent the last two years missing. In theory, everything should be the same. Her best friend, Matt, still lives next door. Her house is in the exact same condition as they left it. The scenery and hallways haven’t changed, yet for Emerson, everything is completely different. The place may be the same, but Emerson is most certainly not. She returns home hurt, angry, and miles away from the girl she once was.

It’s hard for me to review a book like this because it hits so close to home. I cried a lot while reading it, but mainly because it reminded me of my own memories. Like Emerson, I too lost my younger brother about four and a half years ago. However unlike Emerson, I didn’t have a best friend looking out for me.

The thing that I really loved about this story was the characters. I can understand Emerson and I sympathized with her feelings. Half way through the story I started to wonder if things were ever going to get better for her. I was glad to see her coming out of her “funk” near the end. While Matt had his own demons to deal with he never left Em’s side. I think when we are dealing with something so devastating we need someone there to help guide us out of the black hole that we see.

The way the story was written so well done it made it feel real. Unlike a lot of young adult books out there, the way the characters spoke was natural to the way teenagers speak today. There was no “Dawson’s Creek” speak where they talk in only words that are 15 letters long. The alternating view points so flawless and I was never confused about who was speaking.

While reading this book I kept saying “It does get better, it never goes away but it gets better.” Luckily for Em, she does end up seeing the light at the end of the tunnel, but it’s not without sever moments of pain. I recommend this book to anyone whose suffered a heartbreaking loss before. If you’ve been lucky enough to never know this pain, I still recommend that you read this book so you can better understand how to help your loved ones when they experience it. Either way go out and buy this book now.

Leave a Reply

