Silent Harmony

SilentharmonySilent Harmony by: Michele Scott 
Published : May 2013 
Version Read
 : Kindle/Owned 
Read More about it here.

4star

 Small town seventeen-year-old Vivienne Taylor is a talented equestrian with Olympic dreams and a little something extra going on–she is also an “equine empath,” someone who has the ability to read horses’ minds and moods. When she receives a full scholarship to attend Fairmont Riding Academy, a prep school with a famous riding program, she struggles with homesickness, hazing by the school’s snooty drama queen, intense competition in the sport of three-day-eventing, and the not-altogether-unwelcome interest of a hot guy. On top of all of that the horse given to Vivienne via the scholarship is an animal that she cannot “read” or understand. When Vivienne learns that her new horse Harmony belonged to the school’s vet, who recently died in a freak accident, she senses that the horse’s aloof behavior may be the result of her witnessing this accident. But as a connection begins to unfold between Vivienne and Harmony, Vivienne begins to believe that the vet’s death was no accident at all–but rather murder–and she resolves, at considerable peril, to track down the killer.

First off let me say Thank You to NetGalley for the digital ARC of this book. I was so excited to be able to read it. This book sounded like it had me written all over it. Teenage girl with a love of horses? Check? A ritzy prep school? Check? A little murder? Double check. Okay so I never went to prep school or solved a murder, but I’ve experiences with both.

I love books that have a strong female character. Unlike a lot of the popular YA novels, Viv already had a strong sense of who she was when the story started. She didn’t sway or change herself for anyone, and I think young girls need role models like that. However there is a lot of adult themes in this story so I would use caution when giving it to a younger reader.

One of the biggest things that annoyed be about the book was there was not enough of the horse shows in the book. Having been involved in horse shows myself I would have loved to see more of that. With that said I absolutely loved the horse elements of this story. I believe that there are people who are true “horse whisperers” and Viv was one of them.

Without giving too much away the last thing I wanted to mention was the different point of views. As a writer I’ve never tried to to do this, but as a reader I know that I love being inside different character’s heads. With Silent Harmony that was still the case. The only thing that threw me off was the different pov’s weren’t the same. While Viv is in first person everyone else is in third. I’m sure the author did this because she wanted to add “mystery” to those characters, I was somewhat confused by it.

All in all I thought it was a great book and I’ll probably read it again in the future. If you’re a girl who loves horses, or a woman who wants to relive that love you had when you were a girl, pick up this book today.

Leave a Reply

