Geoducks are for Lovers

geoducksGeoducks are for Lovers by: Daisy Prescott
  Published : May 2013
  Version Read : Kindle/Owned
  Read More about it here.

4star

Food writer Maggie Marrion is just getting back on her feet after a horrible year, or two, or three. With their twentieth reunion approaching, she invites four of her closest friends from college for a weekend at her beach cabin on Whidbey Island. What she doesn’t expect is her best friends, artist Quinn Dayton and part-time erotica novelist, Selah Elmore, to play matchmaker. The two plot a surprise that will make the weekend, and her life, a lot more interesting.

This novel was a surprise to me. Since I’m barely thirty I generally don’t read books about characters in their 40s only because I haven’t experienced enough life to relate to them. Geoducks are for Lovers is a book that anyone who has ever had heartbreak. In fact it’s a book I’m going to give my friends when they break up with someone.

I must say before I go any further that I would LOVE to be a food writer. Or more specifically a food critic. Who wouldn’t love to eat the best food for free in return for a review. Kind of like those of us who do book reviews huh? Anyway back to the story because it’s the reason I’m writing this after all.

Lately I have read a lot of second chance books but none of them hold  candle to this book. Most them push or rush the reunion or make up, but Geoducks had just enough time. Gil wasn’t too pushy, Maggie didn’t forget who she was, or just magically get over her past issues, and her friend didn’t let up on them. The book was so real it felt like I was reading a true love story.

Honestly the only complaint that I have with this book is that it wasn’t long enough. I enjoyed her friends so much. I secretly hope that my friends and I are just like them when we are their age. I see a lot of myself in Selah, whether my friends know it or not!

Leave a Reply

