Paper Towns

papertownsPaper Towns by: John Green
 Published : Oct 2008
 Version Read : Paperback/ Loaned
 Read More about it here.

3star

Quentin Jacobsen has spent a lifetime loving the magnificently adventurous Margo Roth Spiegelman from afar. So when she cracks open a window and climbs back into his life – dressed like a ninja and summoning him for an ingenious campaign of revenge – he follows. (taken from Goodreads)

I’m ashamed to say that this was a book I read because there was nothing else to read. I was stuck at the library one day and I ran across it. I had never heard of John Green but the book had promise. So I borrowed it and went home. I’m so glad that I did read this book because it made me stop and take a look at my life.

Was it a profound book that changed the way I think? No, however the parts I related to of the story made me stop and think. Like Margo I am a free spirit. In the last ten years since graduating high school, I’ve lived in seven states and many time in between the same ones. I understood Margo’s motives for leaving the way she did, and that’s why I put the book down and had a conversation with myself. But that’s a story for another day and you don’t want to hear about that.

Besides feeling as thought I knew Margo in another life, this book was the kind that you hate to put down. I enjoyed reading about Q and all of his friends. They reminded me of the ones I had in school. And while I understood Margo, there were times I wanted to slap here. Makes me wonder if my friends wanted to do that to me in school.

The ending of the story was not what I expected. It’s not a bad thing, it was just different, but it fitted the story and I’m glad that it wasn’t all “run off into the sunset holding hands”. I have to say that I’m very happy with the book and I’ll probably read it again one day.

Leave a Reply

