Clockwork Princess

clockworkClockwork Princess by: Cassandra Clare
 Published : March 2013
 Version Read : Kindle/Owned
 Read More about it here.

4star

Tessa Gray should be happy – aren’t all brides happy? Yet as she prepares for her wedding, a net of shadows begins to tighten around the Shadowhunters of the London Institute. A new demon appears, one linked by blood and secrecy to Mortmain, the man who plans to use his army of pitiless automatons, the Infernal Devices, to destroy the Shadowhunters. Mortmain needs only one last item to complete his plan. He needs Tessa. And Jem and Will, the boys who lay equal claim to Tessa’s heart, will do anything to save her. (taken with love from Goodreads)

I’m giving this book a 4 star review, although it’s more like 3.5 at best. I was so excited to finally see the end of this story. I loved the first book, the second was alright, and this one was good. Clockwork Princess was much better than the last few books of the Mortal Instruments, I’ll give Clare that much.

As with all YA books these days there are always a “Team (Whoever) vs. Team (Whoever)”. In this series it’s Team Will vs. Team Jem. Honestly I didn’t care who she ended up with until the middle of this book. I was all for Jem because I felt his pain and the desire to have a little bit of happiness before he died. Tessa always knew where she stood with Jem and I really liked that. Will was too hot and cold for me. I thought the ending was a cop out on Clare’s part. It was like she didn’t want to upset either group of fans.

Aside from the romance the rest of the story was very good. I’m glad Mortmain got what he deserved. However I thought it took Tessa a little too long to figure out why she had the Clockwork Angel necklace. I suppose that was part of the whole story, but it really was last moment in a life and death situation. But isn’t that how it always works?

This was a very good end to the series. I liked how it ended in the present time. Hopefully she won’t go back and write more of Tessa’s story because she couldn’t have done a better job.

 

Leave a Reply

