Always and Forever

alwaysandforeverAlways and Forever by: Karla Nellenbach
 Published : Sept 2012
 Version Read : Kindle/Owned
 Read More about it here.

4star

Mia’s first reaction is outright disbelief. Obviously, a mistake has been made. Sixteen-year-old girls don’t die. But, when the diagnosis is confirmed, she dives headlong into anger. If she has to die, why should it be of cancer? In fact, anything would be preferable to cancer. Better for her to say when, where, and especially how. Determined to meet death on her own terms, Mia devises scheme after scheme to get the job done. A “fall” down the basement stairs, driving her car off a bridge, and even a dance with a train all end in her survival.  And through it all, Mia keeps her family and friends at arms’ length with her destructive and hurtful behavior. With each failed suicide attempt and burned relationship, she slowly realizes that it’s not the dying that she’s afraid of, but the life she’ll be leaving behind. Now, that life is in a shambles. As time begins to slip through her fingers and death is upon her, Mia fights to rebuild the bridges she has destroyed, but can she do it before the clock runs out? (taken with love from Goodreads)

Reading the summary you know that this book is going to have a sad ending. I’m not giving anything, away we just know how it’s going to end. For a long time I tried to stay away from these kinds of books, but recently I found myself connecting with them. Life can be sad, but that doesn’t mean it can’t be beautiful at the same time. Personally my grandmother passed away form cancer and she was nothing like Mia. I always wonder why she didn’t have a fear of dying, it wasn’t her personality. As much as I hate to say this, it was refreshing to see the other side of facing death in someone that wasn’t just going to accept it.

This book had all of my emotions in a tumbler and every now and then one would get thrown out and that’s what I would feel. I absolutely loved the characters. They were written beautifully and they felt very real to me. This was the first time I really rooted for a couple to get together. And a little part of me wished that I had her friends in high school. Not that my friends weren’t awesome, but these characters would have made high school so much better.

This book captured my heart and I’m still not sure it’s completely let it go. If you’re looking fora  heart-wrenching book and need a good excuse to cry, this is your book.

Leave a Reply

