Let the Sky Fall

lettheskyfallLet the Sky Fall by: Shannon Messenger
 Published : March 2013
 Version Read : Kindle/Owned
 Read More about it here.

3star

Seventeen-year-old Vane Weston has no idea how he survived the category five tornado that killed his parents. And he has no idea if the beautiful, dark-haired girl who’s swept through his dreams every night since the storm is real. But he hopes she is. Seventeen-year-old Audra is a sylph, an air elemental. She walks on the wind, can translate its alluring songs, and can even coax it into a weapon with a simple string of commands. She’s also a guardian—Vane’s guardian—and has sworn an oath to protect Vane at all costs. Even if it means sacrificing her own life. (Taken with love from Goodreads)

Finally a YA book with a strong female character and a guy who doesn’t get what he wants by being sarcastic or mean. With dueling point of views, this story offered something I’ve never read before. Until now I thought I knew a lot of the different mythologies from around the world. But I have never heard of a Sylph, which is a main character of the story.

Vane was a very likable male character for me. There were a few times I wanted to slap him, but for the most part he was great. He is the last of his kind and has no idea there is anything special about him. Audra had a lot on her shoulders and I’m sure that’s why she made some of the decisions she did. She feels responsible for the death of his parents and is trying everything in her power to mold him into the man he’s supposed to be. Audra was the literal girl of Vane’s dreams so you can guess that adds a bit of romance to the story.

Overall I was very pleased with the story. I know I’m not giving a lot away because I honestly think this is a book everyone can enjoy and I hope that you go out and buy it.

Leave a Reply

