Pieces of Lies

pieces-of-liesPieces of Lies by: Angela Richardson
 Published : Jan 2013
 Version Read : Kindle/Loaned
 Read More about it here.

3star

 

Passionately driven artist, Norah Ross, has been banished from New York to Morewell for her final semester of graphic design at McLaren University. Her move allows her to reconnect with Josh, her best friend, who is more then thrilled at Norah’s appearance back into his life.  At the same time that Norah steps back into Josh’s heart, she learns that he is in the process of being accepted into McLaren’s uber exclusive secret society, the ‘Lappell’. Josh takes Norah to the Lappell’s glamorous parties in the hope of taking their friendship to the next level, but when Norah meets the handsome and elusive Clint Weston, a leader in the Lappell, he sweeps her off her feet in more ways then one. (taken with love from Goodreads)

I received this book as a loan from Book Lending. As a self published book I knew that it would have some grammar errors and such, but it was a very well written book outside of that. It’s a good thing that I like a lot of drama in my books because this one had enough to fill ten.

There is no better title for this book than Pieces of Lies. Reading the story I never knew who was being truthful, who was using someone else, and who was keeping something from the group. I wish there was a little more info about the secret society, but I suspect there will be more in the next installment.

So Norah runs away from New York and comes back into the life of her best friend Josh. Personally I liked Josh, even though he wasn’t always the nicest guy. There was something about Clint that got on my nerves. At times I felt he was being fake and only telling her what she wanted to hear. I’m starting to get tired of all the love triangles in YA books these days. Yes I’m aware that makes me a hypocrite because I’ve written my stories with them. Luckily for me just when the threesome got tired, we are treated to yet another guy interested in Norah. What kind of girl has to choose between three guys? I want to live in that fantasy. Just kidding, but not really.

Of course this story is much more than the guys. Norah needs to learn to move on from her past and accept help from people she tried to hide from. Everyone has secrets that we keep hidden deep down, but they never stay there. I liked Norah and felt she was someone I could hang out with in real life. We’re left with a huge cliffhanger and I can’t wait to read the second book.

Leave a Reply

