House at the End of Hope Street

houseattheendofhopestreet

The House at the End of Hope Street by: Menna van Praag
 Published : April 2013
 Version Read : Paperback/Owned
 Read More about it here.

2star

 Distraught that her academic career has stalled, Alba is walking through her hometown of Cambridge, England, when she finds herself in front of a house she’s never seen before, 11 Hope Street. A beautiful older woman named Peggy greets her and invites her to stay, on the house’s usual conditions: she has ninety-nine nights to turn her life around. With nothing left to lose, Alba takes a chance and moves in.She soon discovers that this is no ordinary house. Past residents have included George Eliot and Beatrix Potter, who, after receiving the assistance they needed, hung around to help newcomers—literally, in talking portraits on the wall. As she escapes into this new world, Alba begins a journey that will heal her wounds—and maybe even save her life. (taken with love from Goodreads)

I received this book as a first reads on Goodreads. I was so excited because it was something I really wanted to read. The summary seemed like something I would devour and enjoy. However as I started to read it I was slowly being let down. The summary leads you to believe that they story is from Alba’s point of view, when every character introduced in the book has scenes from their point of view. I have nothing against this, but when you have a hard time telling who is talking it becomes a chore.

I thought the other girls in the house were more interesting than the main character. They knew who they were and they didn’t falter in their situations. Yes, they were down on their luck, but their personality didn’t change through out the story. I can understand Alba’s story and why she is the way she is, but her story left me uninspired. The way she just changed her sexuality really drove me nuts. I have nothing against reading books with homosexual characters, but you can’t just turn it on or off. That was the biggest disappointment to me. It felt out of place in the greater scheme of things.

The plot had a lot of promise and I wouldn’t object to reading something else from this author.

Leave a Reply

