Firefly Lane

fireflylane

Firefly Lane by: Kristin Hannah
Published : February 2008
Version Read : Paperback/Owned
Read More about it here.

4star

In the turbulent summer of 1974, Kate Mularkey has accepted her place at the bottom of the eighth-grade social food chain. Then, to her amazement, the “coolest girl in the world” moves in across the street and wants to be her friend. Tully Hart seems to have it all—beauty, brains, ambition. On the surface they are as opposite as two people can be: Kate, doomed to be forever uncool, with a loving family who mortifies her at every turn. Tully, steeped in glamour and mystery, but with a secret that is destroying her. They make a pact to be best friends forever; by summer’s end they’ve become TullyandKate. Inseparable.

I first discovered this book at the library. I picked up quite a few books that day and unfortunately couldn’t get to this one. When I won it as a giveaway on Goodreads I was overjoyed. Having received the book and read it in just a few days I was not disappointed. As a lover of history and pop culture I enjoyed reading the authors take on the 70s, 80s and 90s in this book. Even though it was full of cliches, they were written in a way that I didn’t mind.

What I enjoyed most about this story was the way that she wrote the friendship between Kate ad Tully. Having friends I’ve known for over 15 years, I can relate to everything they were going through. They have their ups and downs, but in the end they know that they can count on each other.

Tully is the more dominate personality of the twosome. She knows what she wants and she’s not afraid to hurt people to get to it. Sometimes this puts Kate’s family in danger, but in the end she is really there for her. Kate is probably the most relatable to me. She wants love and a family more than anything. She also goes along with Tully’s antics instead of standing up for herself.

The story in the end is about life, love and friendship. Everyone at one point in their life struggles with the results of their decisions they’ve made. I know I have. It was reassuring that even though two people can be so close, grow apart, and makes mistakes, that friendships will last. The ending was so emotional I will be thinking about this story for months to come.

Leave a Reply

