City of Lost Souls

cityoflostsouls

City of Lost Souls by: Cassandra Clare
 Published : May 2012
 Version Read : Hardback
 Read More about it here.

 2star

What price is too high to pay, even for love? When Jace and Clary meet again, Clary is horrified to discover that the demon Lilith’s magic has bound her beloved Jace together with her evil brother Sebastian, and that Jace has become a servant of evil. The Clave is out to destroy Sebastian, but there is no way to harm one boy without destroying the other. As Alec, Magnus, Simon, and Isabelle wheedle and bargain with Seelies, demons, and the merciless Iron Sisters to try to save Jace, Clary plays a dangerous game of her own. The price of losing is not just her own life, but Jace’s soul. She’s willing to do anything for Jace, but can she still trust him? Or is he truly lost?

It breaks my heart that I can’t give this book a higher rating. I have been a huge fan of Cassandra Clare since reading her first book City of Bones. This is the fifth book in the Mortal Instruments series and I still feel as though she should have stopped at book three. Part of me wonders if authors who writ
I think the biggest problem I had with this book was it all felt the same. Don’t get me wrong, there was a plot and the characters developed, but I’m not saying it’s a good thing. This one didn’t have the flow that her previous books had and it felt very pushed. I know I keep saying this so let’s move on to the meat and bones of the story, the characters.e these long series of books are doing it purely for the money. They know they have a hit on their hands and milk it for all it’s worth. It’s the same way I felt when reading Breaking Dawn. Anyway you want to know what I thought about this book, not on the author.

I’ve always been a fan of Clary. I’ve always admired her willingness to save the people that she loves. However, at this point she’s trying too hard to save Jace. It doesn’t seem natural and she doesn’t seem to care about the other people around her. It’s almost an unhealthy obsession and it really turns me off. Jace on the other hand seems to have more character now that he’s part “evil”. The way he toys with Clary is amusing and made the story readable.

Isabelle and Simon are still hard for me get a grip on. Their relationship doesn’t seem to gel and reads as if they are only together because all of the other characters are already taken. I just don’t understand it. As if there weren’t enough characters who got into trouble, Cassandra added Maia and Jordan. How do you get over your hatred for the boy who turned you into a werewolf so easily and start dating him again? There was no effort put into actually working out their issues.

The only redeeming character for me was Magnus. His other half, Alec, fell short of the character he used to be. There was so much mopey around from Alec that I wished Magnus would just cut him loose. To the couple’s credit even though I wanted Magnus to break up with Alec, I still hoped that they would work it out. I mean could Alec have really thought Magnus was always single until him?

The ending had be throwing the book across the room and declaring I would not read the last book. Of course that’s not true, because when I start to read a series, I have to finish it. I just don’t have high hopes for it.

Leave a Reply

