Outlander

outlanderOutlander by: Diana Gabaldon
 Published : July 2005
 Version Read : Paperback/Owned
 Read More about it here.

3star

 

The year is 1945. Claire Randall, a former combat nurse, is back from the war and reunited with her husband on a second honeymoon–when she walks through a standing stone in one of the ancient stone circles that dot the British Isles. Suddenly she is a Sassenach–an “outlander”–in a Scotland torn by war and raiding Highland clans in the year of Our Lord…1743. (taken with love from Goodreads)

This is one of those books that people either love or hate. While I’m rating this book 3 stars and I did like it, I’m probably not going to read it again. I usually don’t go for books that are smutty and this one had it in spades. Honestly I sat on this book for two years before finally picking it up and reading it.

I love historical fiction and this one did not disappoint. I’ve always loved Scotland I feel as though this book was very well researched. The characters were well thought out and held their own against all the situations they were thrown into. With that said I did have issue with Claire just “giving up” on her husband. I understand that to save herself she needed to marry Jamie, but he gave her an out to having sex. It doesn’t matter what time period she’s in, she’s still married to Frank.

I also think that she went a little too far in the last third of the book. I love when books have a “real” villains  but I think Gabaldon took it to the extreme. This wasn’t Fifty Shades of Grey after all. And yes I’m aware this book came out before Fifty. The whole subplot with Frank’s evil ancestor did nothing for the story line and felt every out of place. I’m sure in that time period there were men who loved men, but the added fact that he “wanted” Jamie only because he reminded him of his brother was gross. I wish I could get that out of my head.

I’ve tried to read the other books in this series but I couldn’t get into them. Nothing against the thousands of women who love Jamie and Claire, I just prefer my historical fiction without the modern themes.

Leave a Reply

